Two Kiwis named in APAO’s first top 10
Some of APJO’s inaugural Asia-Pacific Eye top 100 ophthalmologists

Two Kiwis named in APAO’s first top 10

March 29, 2023 Staff reporters

New Zealand-based Professors Charles McGhee and Helen Danesh-Meyer have been named in the top 10 of the inaugural Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology’s (APJO’s) 100 Most Influential Ophthalmologists 2022 list.


The official publication of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) and the Academy of Asia-Pacific Professors of Ophthalmology, APJO’s Asia-Pacific Eye 100 was developed to honour and celebrate those who have made significant contributions to ophthalmology in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond, said the organisation announcing the awards.


Given the outstanding calibre of many ophthalmologists in the region, Prof McGhee said being ranked so highly was a surprise, while having two Kiwis in the top 10 was amazing. “Obviously, such personal acknowledgement of success and hard work is always flattering and to be in the top 10 in the region is indeed a great honour. Helen has now the triple success of being listed over the last two years in the top-100 female and top-100 most influential by The Ophthalmologist magazine. Absolutely phenomenal!” Prof Danesh-Meyer was also made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) for her services to ophthalmology in the King’s 2023 New Year honours list.


The honours are an acknowledgement of the country’s great Kiwi ophthalmology team, without whom the country’s clinical and research frontiers would not be continually extended, said Prof McGhee. “More than 40% of the world’s 250,000 ophthalmologists reside in the Asia-Pacific region and while the top-100, published biannually by The Ophthalmologist, is pretty representative, it is dominated by Europe and North America; therefore, I believe the APJO top 100 was established to better acknowledge those in our region.”


Elsewhere in the region, Australia’s Professor Hugh Taylor made the top 10, while fellow Australians Associate Professors Andrew Chang, Celia Chen and Paul Healey and Professors Ian Constable, Mingguang He, David Mackey, Frank Martin and Keith Martin were all named in the top 100.


Nominations were rigorously assessed by an independent selection committee composed of 22 senior ophthalmologists from 15 countries, all of whom have outstanding professional profiles, said an APJO statement. The 75 male and 25 female awardees were formally acknowledged at a ceremony at the 2023 APAO Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, at the end of February 2023.